IEA 367

7 september - Workshop Trade Secrets Deep Dive

IPEG Workshop Trade Secrets Deep Dive

Link A workshop Trade Secrets Deep Dive will be held on Friday September 7 in Eindhoven (High Tech Campus). Speakers from private practice and industry (see below) will cover all aspects of trade secrets, by many considered the most important intellectual property asset. Recent developments are the reason to organize this event:

  • The Defend Trade Secrets Act passed in the USA in May 2016
  • The EU Directive on Trade Secrets is enacted by member state on 9 June 2018
  • China explicitly included trade secrets in its 2018 revisions to the Anti Unfair Competition Law.

Furthermore Heads of IP Departments have expressed their wish that there should be an exchange of “best practices” on trade secret management. IPEG therefor has managed to get together excellent speakers from industry as well as legal practice to cover all aspects of trade secret protection.

Inschrijven: link
Waar: Conference Center High Tech Campus Eindhoven
Wanneer: vrijdag 7 september 2018 van 14.00-17.30 uur
Prijs: € 295 excl BTW (incl BTW €358,95)
Inclusief: koffie, thee frisdrank met aan einde van de dag een afsluitende borrel
Ordepunten: aantal 3

13.30-13.55   Arriving of attendees of the Workshop with coffee/tea/welcome drink

14.00 -14.08  Opening remarks by the Chair, Ingrid Baele (Head of IP&S Offices & Operations Philips) 
14.10 -14.30 Donal O’Connell (IPEG consultant, former Head R&D Nokia) on “The power of trade secret metadata”
14.30- 14.50 Koen de Winter (partner BakerMcKenzie) on “The Board Ultimatum: Protect and Preserve, The Rising Importance of  Safeguarding Trade Secrets”
14.50-15.10  Tjibbe Douma (attorney De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek) on “Trade secret (in) innovation”
15.10- 15.30 Dr. Stephan Wolke (CEO thyssenkrupp Intellectual Property GmbH) and Dr. Claudia Pappas (attorney thyssenkrupp) on “Implementation of trade secret processes and structures at an international engineering conglomerate”
15.30- 15.45 Tea break


15.45-17.30  Panel discussion (see below), chaired by Gijs Weenink, (DebatAcademie)
Panellists/members of the Lower House Debate
Maaike van Velzen (Philips)
Marieke van Gent  (AkzoNobel)
Dietmar Presser (DSM)
Sarah Sahans (AkzoNobel Coatings)
Dr. Uwe Over (Henkel)
Johan Hulshof (NXP)
Dr. Guno H.K. Tjon (Unilever)
Willem Weenink (ASML)

17.30-18.00   Closing remarks by Workshop Chair, followed by drinks